Thursday, May 26, 2011


Districts of West Bengal
  1. Bankura
  2. Bardhaman
  3. Birbhum
  4. Cooch Behar
  5. Darjeeling
  6. East Midnapore
  7. Hooghly
  8. Howrah
  9. Jalpaiguri
  10. Kolkata
  1. Malda
  2. Murshidabad
  3. Nadia
  4. North 24 Parganas
  5. Uttar Dinajpur
  6. Purulia
  7. South 24 Parganas
  8. Dakshin Dinajpur
  9. West Midnapore
Each district is governed by a district collector or district magistrate, appointed either by the Indian Administrative Service or the West Bengal Civil Service. Each district is subdivided into Sub-Divisions, governed by a sub-divisional magistrate, and again into Blocks. Blocks consists of panchayats (village councils) and town municipalities.
The capital and largest city of the state is Kolkata — the third-largest urban agglomeration and the fourth-largest city in India. Siliguri is an economically important Metropolitan City, strategically located in the northeastern Siliguri Corridor (Chicken's Neck) of India. Asansol, Durgapur are the other Metropolitan cities in the western industrial belt. Other major cities and towns in West Bengal are Howrah, Raniganj, Haldia, Jalpaiguri, Kharagpur, Burdwan, Darjeeling, Midnapore, Tamluk, Malda andCooch Behar.

No comments:

Post a Comment